Week 4: “Weakness, thy name is…”

…a two letter word that starts with an ‘m’ and ends with an ‘e’.

I think I’m in trouble because these lemon poppy seed muffins have gotten me hook, line, and sinker back into the world of baking like regular people do, with (whole, because we don’t do anything BUT in any household of mine) wheat flour, sugar, and butter. 

ImageI tried, honest I tried, I tried so hard to soften the fall: instead of sugar, I used organic coconut palm sugar (which costs just a nice a penny as it is a low-glycemic sugar substitute), cut the fat by subbing half of it out with applesauce, used vegan butter…!

Also, culinary firsts– my laziness to go to the store and pick up some eggs caused me to find egg alternatives. So, I gave the ole flax and water recipe a spin, and I was pleasantly surprised by how well it turned out!

But in the end, I was fated to be doomed, to be deathly in love with these muffins.

I’m not sure what about it makes my brain light up more– the carbs in it, or the sugar. I guess when it comes down it, they’re both pretty much the same. And they’re unavoidable, and so, so fucking delicious. 

In other news, I wish I had gotten a picture of breakfast, but took advantage of the fact that my circadian rhythm has now set itself to waking up about nine or so to go to the SFC Farmers’ Market in downtown Austin to grab some breakfast! Pretty excited to get my hands on some Tacodeli. Good lord the tastiness that they wrap up in a tortilla. Filled up on Buddha’s Brew kombucha, and made a stop at Cake and Spoon to see what their famous quiche is all about and picked up a treat or two. 

Blowing twenty dollars at the Farmers’ Market was actually quite tame. 

(First-world, I-love-food-a-little-too-much, I-think-I’m-getting-a-little-more-Austinite problems.)

Leave a Reply

