Week 2 and 3: Cat(ch)sup

Two weekends of cooking have passed since my last post, but this will be a lightning post, partly because I can’t quite remember what I have to say about the pictures that I saved of what I made.

It goes without saying that I have long finished the food featured in these posts. At least, I think I did. I sure hope so. Surprise food is nice, but not the kind that has been sitting in the back of your fridge, and the only reason why it’s a surprise is because you forgot about it…

Without further ado:

Week 2:

Photo Jun 29, 7 54 59 PM          Photo Jul 07, 8 50 06 PM

I don’t recall a lot of cooking, but I do recall baking a lot of blueberry-related things, as apparent from the pictures. I think it had something to do with organic blueberries being on sale at Central Market, and they were the tastiest gems! I had made some blueberry tart-bars, I guess you could say, using a graham cracker recipe from here, which has yet to fail me in producing crunchy, scrumptious graham crackers that I spike with a little flax for added nutritional value. As for the blueberry jam-topping, it was just a little something I whipped by heating blueberries, honey, zest and juice of a lemon, and some orange juice I found in the fridge. The blueberry-citrus mixture was definitely better than the parts of the sum.

As for the cheesecake…After the “cheesecake” fiasco, I rolled up my sleeves and tackled it with a greek yogurt cheesecake recipe, mixed in with some fresh blueberries. A little disappointed I can’t find the recipe I used, but I remember taking a few liberties with it. The result was a rich, dense, extremely creamy greek yogurt cheesecake that I found to be quite tart, but not untasty. To mellow it down, I had it with blueberry and strawberry-rhubarb jam, and I think it’s safe to say that I would definitely do it again. In fact, I’d do both of these recipes again.

Week 3:

Photo Jul 07, 8 50 20 PM        Photo Jul 07, 8 52 21 PM

The theme of this week might have been “Getting My Veggies On.”

What originally was supposed to start out as Thai curry with green beans and chicken somehow escalated into something else that had fish sauce, black bean garlic sauce, and sweet potato noodles (granted, the noodles were part of the original plan). It was good, though– good enough to eat for two weeks straight. Note to self: I have got to stop cooking enough for a family of four.

When I first went to 24 Diner on what turned out to be the best July 4th I’ve had in, I don’t know, ever, I fell head over heels in love with the side of summer squash and zucchini that came with my burger. Which is kind of strange, to love the side a little more than the burger itself, which was, don’t get me wrong, capital-A amazing in its own right. But it was fresh (local and organic!), and beautifully seasoned, the perfect texture, not too mushy but still gives in to a light chew. I might have tried to make something like it, I sauteed some summer squash and zucchini with red bell pepper and grape tomato with some shallots I found in the fridge. Threw in some rosemary for some aroma (a good call, if I do say so myself), but it was a little lacking in taste. Still, a great way to incorporate some veg into my week.

Leave a Reply

