I am going to follow my gut!

I, and a few others close to me know that I spend entirely too much time in front of the pantry.

Besides the fact that it oftentimes harbor tasty morsels and a plethora of ingredients that can be made into tasty morsels, I really think that what people choose to put in their pantry says a lot about who they are. On that note, let me try to recount what’s in my section of the pantry: dried sweet potato noodles, some oatmeal. Dried shiitake mushrooms, raisins, canned tuna, and granola. Three kinds of peanut butter, and too many types of tea and coffee for a single person.

They each have their own story, a phase with myself that went through, or still am in. The oatmeal? Untouched for several months, because apparently, being full of “heart-healthy seeds and oats and nuts!” left little room for much else (I imagine it’s the embodiment of Mother Earth in a little cardboard container– tastes and feels like wet soil in your mouth). Tea and coffee, because I like class and sophistication. A lot of goods in there are organic, because I’ve got only one body, and I think it deserves fuel of the little-less-shitty kind. I like to think of it as an investment on my health.

Oh– and also, chocolate chips. Because who isn’t down for a little instant gratification? And even then, it’s dairy, soy, and nut-free.

So, at the end of the day, I eat with taste and health on the mind. And that’s going to mean that I keep an open palate, and cook and try new things. And inevitably, that’s going to mean what I make will have their own story, their own ups and downs.

I am going to chronicle them all here. I am going to try a new recipe every week (as I have been doing), and I am going to do it pans flying, knives slicing, ovens firing. Blood will be spilled (though hopefully not too much, they don’t impart much a flavor in addition to being quite painful to get, I hear), and frustration will mount.

But at the end of the day, I’ll admit it– it is what I look forward to doing every week.

Leave a Reply

